October Long Weekend Labour Day

The October Long Weekend is a great time to experience the diverse pleasures of NSW. From cool-climate gardens of the Blue Mountains to music festivals near The Murray and food festivals in the NSW Tablelands, you will find many enticing events to enjoy over the long weekend.

For those who like it loud, the award-winning Deni Ute Muster and Play on the Plains Festival celebrates the iconic Australian 'ute' in the town of Deniliquin in the Murray region. Enjoy live music and cheer on the ritual attempt to break two world records, including the most number of utes and the largest group of people in blue singlets.

Deni Ute Muster, Deniliquin

Visit the beautiful  Leura Gardens Festival  in the upper Blue Mountains for a magnificent variety of fragrant blooms, with exotic flowers such as rhododendrons, camellias, azaleas and hellebores. Explore the charming town of Leura and the breathtaking beauty of the Heritage-Listed Blue Mountains National Park.

Starfest in Coonabarabran gives you access to the Siding Spring Observatory, with an open day, astronomy talks, and ‘Science in the Pub’, an evening of entertaining science talks and banter from leading astronomy experts.

Just outside of Canberra in Murrumbateman, the Murrumbateman Moving Feast offers a weekend of local wines matched with delicious food from the region. This fabulous foodie affair showcases the best of the local region, with cellar doors and restaurants pairing tasting plates and desserts with the region’s wines.

Great October Long Weekend Events in NSW

Map

Public Holiday Dates 2018-2019

Holiday 2018 2019
Australia Day Thursday, 26 January Friday, 28 January
Good Friday Friday, 30 March Friday, 19 April
Easter Saturday Saturday, 31 March Saturday, 20 April
Easter Sunday Sunday, 1 April Sunday, 21 April
Easter Monday  Monday, 2 April Monday, 22 April
Anzac Day  Wednesday, 25 April Thursday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday  Monday, 11 June Monday, 10 June
October Long Weekend (Labour Day) Monday, 1 October Monday, 7 October
Christmas Day public holiday Tuesday, 25 December Wednesday, 25 December
Boxing Day Wednesday, 26 December Thursday, 26 December