Australia Day in NSW

Held each year on 26 January, Australia Day is the country’s official national day. It’s a time to celebrate the Australian way of life and reflect on what it means to be Australian. Join in a fun festival, learn about ancient Aboriginal culture at a traditional ceremony or just soak up the Summer sunshine at the beach.

The McClymonts at Toyota Country Music Festival

Central Coast and North Coast

Towns all along the Central Coast will be hosting Australia Day events – visit Woy Woy for the lantern parade and fireworks, or The Entrance for the water park, rides and tasty food stalls. In Newcastle there will be celebrations all day along the foreshore and you can join in the famous swim across the harbour.

At the Lake Mac Festival there will be a family movie on an outdoor screen, jumping castles and rock climbing walls for kids, live music performances and a fireworks display. The Saltwater Freshwater Festival in Coffs Harbour celebrates and shares living Aboriginal culture through music, dance, art and food.

South Coast

Make a weekend of it with a South Coast road trip along the Grand Pacific Drive. Swim in ocean pools in Illawarra, go surfing in Shellharbour or swim with snorkel off Montague Island. You’ll find Australia Day events on in Wollongong and Kiama, a breakfast by the lake in Shellharbour, and the final days of the annual Huskisson Carnival.

Water sports during Australia Day celebrations in Gunnedah in the Tamworth region

Country NSW

In Oberon, visit Mayfield Garden to catch the final day of the Summer Festival and see thousands of hydrangeas, water lilies, roses and more in bloom. The Taralga Australia Day Rodeo runs over the whole weekend with bull riding, steer roping and cattle dog trials, as well as country music and carnival rides.

Australia Day in Gunnedah starts with a raft race down the river – with plenty of falls and splashes along the way – followed by family-friendly activities and a BBQ. Join in the Jail Break Fun Run in Junee or taste some of the year’s best craft beers at the Hottest 100 Party at Tumut River Brewing Co.

Other Australia Day events in Country NSW include:

Great Australia Day events in NSW

Loading.

Public Holiday Dates 2019-2020

Holiday 2019 2020
Australia Day Friday, 28 January Monday, 27 January 
Good Friday Friday, 19 April Friday, 10 April
Easter Saturday Saturday, 20 April Saturday, 11 April 
Easter Sunday Sunday, 21 April Sunday, 12 April
Easter Monday  Monday, 22 April Monday, 13 April
Anzac Day  Thursday, 25 April Saturday, 25 April (Additional Day Monday, 27 April)
Queen's Birthday  Monday, 10 June Monday, 8 June
October Long Weekend (Labour Day) Monday, 7 October Monday, 5 October
Christmas Day public holiday Wednesday, 25 December Friday, 25 December
Boxing Day Thursday, 26 December Saturday, 26 December (Additional Day 28 December)