Tweed Regional Museum
Tweed Regional Museum is dedicated to preserving and sharing the unique history and heritage of the Tweed Shire.
Two branches of the Museum, Murwillumbah and Tweed Heads, offer comprehensive displays.
At Murwillumbah, the Museum is housed within the original 1915 Shire Hall, and a contemporary extension opened in 2014. Permanent displays provide a glimpse into past settlement and development of the Shire. Changing displays showcase the Tweed Regional Museum collection, along with contemporary stories about places, events and people significant to the Tweed community.
The Museum branch at Tweed Heads is located in a beautiful park setting on the banks of Terranora inlet. This branch of the Museum showcases three significant heritage buildings. The original Tweed Heads Court House, Boyd’s Shed, the last of numerous fishing sheds once dotted around Boyds Bay, and the Deck House, which dates from the 1880s.
The third branch of the Museum, at Uki, is a small research centre dedicated to documenting the history of Uki, the South Arm and surrounding areas.
For more information regarding locations, contact details and opening hours of Tweed Regional Museum and the historical societies, please refer to the website.