Christ the King Catholic Church
Designed by Sydney Smith of Ogg and Serpell and built in 1934 by R. M. Bowcock, the Church was added to the New South Wales State Heritage Register in 2004 on account of it being an excellent example and highly intact Inter-War Romanesque Church. The Church is made even more remarkable for the place and time of its construction in 1934, financially supported by an Irish-Catholic rural community following a period of severe economic depression. The Church is a local landmark and its history and visual prominence serves as a reminder of the churches role in the community.
The stunning terracotta cartwheel style 'Rose Window' set high above the church porch was bought to Taralga by rail embedded in a tray of sand! And the magnificent marble alter was quarried at Wombeyan Caves and is of a cream grain called 'Wombeyan Rose'.