Water Tower Museum
The town's main concrete water reservoir was built in 1908, and decommissioned in the late 50s. Being part of Gunnedah's history, it was perfect to repurpose the building as a historic museum.
Visitors can enjoy Gunnedah's past on four floors and learn about prominent Gunnedah families, admire memorabilia from homes, major world conflicts and local school history. Climbing the stairs has its reward if you go all the way to the roof-top observation deck that provides panoramic views of Gunnedah and the surrounding district.
Unveiled on ANZAC Day 2019, the museum features two magnificent external murals depicting the Battle of Long Tan in the Vietnam War by Artist Jenny McCraken. The Water Tower Museum is registered on the Australian Silo Art Trail Facebook site and can be found in Anzac Park, South Street, Gunnedah.
Please note the Water Tower Museum is open on Saturdays only from 10am until 2.00pm or by appointment and is currently not wheel-chair accessible.
A small entry fee is charged and Coach Groups are welcome. Town history and Family Research is available for a nominal fee.
Does not cater for people with access needs.